FHA Loans

An FHA loan is a mortgage loan that is insured by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA), which is a division of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). The FHA loan program was created to facilitate homeownership, particularly for borrowers who may have difficulty qualifying for conventional mortgage loans.

Here are the key features of an FHA loan:

  • FHA Insurance: FHA loans are insured by the FHA, which means that if a borrower defaults on the loan, the FHA will reimburse the lender for a portion of the loss. This insurance reduces the risk for lenders, allowing them to offer more favorable terms to borrowers.
  • Lower Down Payment: One of the main advantages of an FHA loan is that it allows borrowers to make a lower down payment compared to conventional loans. The minimum down payment requirement for an FHA loan is typically 3.5% of the purchase price or appraised value of the property, whichever is less.
  • Flexible Credit Requirements: FHA loans are more lenient when it comes to credit requirements compared to conventional loans. Borrowers with lower credit scores or a limited credit history may still be eligible for an FHA loan, provided they meet other criteria and demonstrate the ability to repay the loan.
  • Mortgage Insurance Premium (MIP): To protect the FHA from potential losses, borrowers are required to pay an upfront mortgage insurance premium (UFMIP) at the time of closing and an annual mortgage insurance premium (MIP) as part of their monthly mortgage payment. The MIP amount depends on the loan amount, loan term, and loan-to-value ratio.
  • Loan Limits: FHA loan limits vary by location and are set by the FHA and HUD. These limits determine the maximum loan amount that can be insured by the FHA in a particular area. Loan limits are based on the median home prices in the area and are adjusted annually.
  • Streamlined Refinancing: FHA loans offer a streamlined refinancing option, known as an FHA streamline refinance. This program allows existing FHA borrowers to refinance their loans with reduced documentation and underwriting requirements, making the refinancing process faster and easier.
  • Property Eligibility: FHA loans can be used to purchase a variety of property types, including single-family homes, multifamily properties (up to four units), condominiums, and certain manufactured homes. However, the property must meet specific standards and be appraised by an FHA-approved appraiser.
  • Counseling Requirement: First-time homebuyers applying for an FHA loan are typically required to complete housing counseling provided by an approved housing counseling agency. The counseling is designed to educate borrowers about the homebuying process, budgeting, credit, and homeownership responsibilities.

FHA loans have played a significant role in making homeownership more accessible for many borrowers, particularly those with limited funds for a down payment or lower credit scores. It's important to note that FHA loans come with certain guidelines and requirements, and borrowers should carefully consider their financial situation and consult with Mission Pacific Mortgage to determine if an FHA loan is the right option.

Get Pre-Qualified in
Just Seconds!

This Free Quick Quote form has been designed to help narrow down options based on your individual needs. It’s quick, it’s easy, and you get accurate results.

Green arrow pointing right

Quick Quote

Follow Mission Pacific Mortgage

Mission Pacific Mortgage - Logo

Stay Informed and Understand How Mortgage Planning Affects Your Overall Financial Objectives

We make it our mission to keep you informed of the latest trends and best solutions available.  Sign up to receive helpful tips so you can make the best decisions for your long term wealth strategy.


NMLS# 14241
DRE# 01357578

Licensed by the Department of Business Oversight under the California Finance Lenders Law, 1786785

Equal Housing Lender

Contact Us

Mission Pacific Mortgage
a DBA of EAB Holdings, Inc.

1902 Wright Pl
STE 200
Carlsbad, CA 92008